ANTARKTIESE WEEK ·

Op versoek van die Scientific Council for Antarctic Research (S.C.A.R.) wat op internasionale vlak bemoeid is met Antarktiese navorsing, word die tiende jaar van intensiewe Antarktiese navorsing hierdie jaar wêreldwyd herdenk.

In Pretoria word 'n grootskaalse uitstalling vanaf 11 tot 14 Oktober onder beskerming van die Antarktiese Vereniging gehou in die Museum vir Wetenskap en Industrie-gebou wat so pas in Skinnerstraat voltooi is. Prof. P. Stoker van die Universiteit Potchefstroom en Doug. Torr van die Witwatersrandse Universiteit sal skyfie-lesings gee.

In Johannesburg sal daar ook lesings en 'n dinee by die Universiteit Witwatersrand gehou word onder beskerming van prof. S. P. Jackson, 'n beskermheer van die Vereniging.

Busse word daar gestel om kinders van naburige dorpe in staat te stel om hierdie uitstalling by te woon.

ANTARCTIC WEEK

At the request of the Scientific Council for Antarctic Research (S.C.A.R.), the tenth anniversary of intensive Antarctic research will be commemorated on a worldwide scale this year.

In Pretoria a large-scale exhibition under the auspices of the Antarctic Association has been arranged for the 11th to the 14th of October in the newly completed building of the Museum for Science and Industry in Skinner Street. Prof. P. Stoker of the University of Potchefstroom and Doug. Torr of the University of the Witwatersrand will give slide lectures.

In Johannesburg lectures will be given and a dinner held at the Witwatersrand University under the auspices of Prof. S. P. Jackson, a patron of the Association.

Transport will be arranged for school children from neighbouring towns to enable them to visit this unique exhibition.

Fourth Annual Dinner of the Antarctic Association

The 4th Annual Dinner of the South African Antarctic Association was held at the Constantia Club in Pretoria on Saturday, 4th June, 1966. The record attendance of 83 guests and members testifies to the increasing importance and esteem of the Association. Mr. Kosie Jooste, Regional Director of the S.A.B.C. and an observer on the first South African National Expedition to Antarctica in 1959, acted as Master of Ceremonies. Apologies for absence were received from Dr. Edna P. Plumstead (Rand), the representatives of Norway and the Argentine and Mr. Vic von Brunn.

In welcoming the guests the Chairman, Mr. Marten du Preez, said "This year has been designated by S.C.A.R. as the Antarctic Year to commemorate ten years of international cooperation in the Antarctic. This Association is a private body interested in Antarctic research. By inviting so many representatives of countries who signed the Antarctic Treaty we wish to pay tribute to their respective governments and those men who conceived the idea of prosecuting research under international agreement in a territory unknown, research which is basically dedicated to the peaceful interests of mankind.

We have with us Mr. and Mrs. R. Eisenberg (U.S.A.), the

Honourable John Wilson and Mrs. Wilson (U.K.), Mr. and Mrs. J. R. G. van der Vennet (Belgium), Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Mayne-Wilson (Australia), Mr. and Mrs. S. Ban (Japan), Mr. G. Claudon (France), Mr. and Mrs. H. S. van der Walt, Deputy Secretary for Transport and Mr. and Mrs. C. F. G. von Hirschberg of the Department of Foreign Affairs. We are indeed honoured by your presence.

As in previous years, we are very glad to have with us the representatives of British Petroleum (Southern Africa), Mr. and Mrs. R. Kirton, Regional Director Transvaal, and Mr. and Mrs. G. Fitzgerald, head of public relations.

It is also my privilege to welcome the two patrons of our Association, Prof. S. P. Jackson, Vice-Chancellor of the University and Mrs. Jackson, and Dr. S. Meiring Naudé, President of the C.S.I.R., and Mrs. Naudé.

Dit is vir my 'n spesiale eer en voorreg om die hoof van die departement waarin ek dien, mnr. M. C. Strauss, die Posmeester-Generaal, en mev. Strauss, hartlik welkom te heet, so ook die Hoofingenieur en sy gade, mnr. en mev. D. P. J. Retief."

> Besides the well-arranged dinner, the highlights of the evening were the lively and stimulated speech by Prof. J. A. Gledhill of the Department of Physics of Rhodes University, Grahamstown, and the presentation of the Antarctic Medal, donated by British Petroleum to Mr. Marten du Preez by the Regional Director of B.P., Mr. Kirton.

> A vote of thanks was passed to Prof. Gledhill by Mr. D. G. Kingwill, and to Dr. and Mrs. J. J. Taljaard by Prof. Jackson for their untiring work on behalf of the Association and the editorship of the *Antarktiese Bullein*. Mrs. Taljaard replied to the last motion.

> Six foreign countries were represented at the dinner. On the photo (l. to r.) Mr. G. Claudon (France), Mr. H. S. van der Walt (Deputy Secretary for Transport), Mr. J. R. G. v. d. Vennet (Belgium), Prof. S. P. Jackson (patron), Mr. S. Bau (Japan), Mr. J. W. Mayne-Wilson (Australia), Dr. S. Meiring Naudé (patron), Mr. R. Eisenberg (U.S.A.) and the Hon. John Wilson (U.K.).

> > Photo: B.P. (S.A.)

