## NUUS VAN DIE VERENIGING

Vergadering van 28e September 1964: Tien lede van die Vereniging en vyf nie-lede het die vergadering bygewoon waartydens mnr. J. A. Nel van die Zoölogie Departement van die Universiteit Pretoria 'n voordrag gelewer het oor die dierelewe van die Antarktiese gebied. Mnr. Nel het die aflosvaart van die R.S.A. in Desember 1963/Januarie 1964 na SANAE meegemaak en het dus eerstehandse inligting bekom oor sommige aspekte van die Antraktiese dierelewe. Ongelukkig is geen opsomming van die verhandeling vir publikasie in die Bulletin verstrek nie. Dit was min-of-meer 'n uitbreiding van die artikel wat deur mnr. Nel geskryf en in No. 2 (Maart 1964) van die Bulletin verskyn het.

Meeting of 26th October, 1964: The meeting was attended by 13 members of the Association and four non-members. A general discussion was held on the leadership of Antarctic expeditions. Three former leaders of South African Antarctic teams, viz. Hannes le Grange (1960), Martin du Preez (1962) and A. M. Venter (1963), as well as Henry Fulton (mechanic, 1962) took part

in the discussions. Only four members of the 1965 team could attend the meeting, viz. W. Hodson, G. P. Potgieter, H. J. Joubert and N. Smit. A tape recording was made for the leader of the 1965 team, Mr. J. T. J. van Wyk, to take down with him to Antarctica and to which he can turn for wise counsel when encountering problems during his term of office at SANAE.

Chairman announces resignation: At the meeting of the Association in Pretoria on 26th October, Hannes la Grange announced that he would not be available to act as Chairman after January 1965. As the October meeting was to be the last meeting of 1964 he availed himself of the opportunity to tender his resignation about six months before his term of office would normally have expired at the time of the next annual general meeting. Mr. I. Lloyd moved a vote of thanks for Hannes' devoted services to the Association during more than one year. His place will be taken by the vice-chairman, Commandant W. J. Chapman, until the election of the new office bearers takes place in March or April 1965.