## ANNUAL REPORT

of the President, 1973-74 South African Antarctic Association

THE PRESIDENT'S REPORT this year is presented to you by your Vice-President. It was with great regret that, in November, your committee accepted the resignation of its President, Mr. Trevor Schaefer, caused by heavy business and personal commitments. Mr. Schaefer's drive and enthusiasm inspired a fund-building campaign ably followed through by your Secretary, Miss Joan Marx. The Treasurer's report will reflect the results of her efforts.

Your committee met six times during its term of office, which is par for the course. During this period three shows were organized for members and members of the public, besides the traditional show presented at each annual general meeting by returning members of Sanae expeditions. Last year Sanae 14 treated us to an entertaining evening. On September 5 we had the pleasure of listening to Prof. T. W. Gevers talking about the landscape and geology of Victoria Land. A recording made for SABC's Radio Today was broadcast on the morning of his talk. Then, on November 21, Rob Johnston entertained a packed audience when he spoke on the way of life on Gough Island, and gave some impressions of Tristan da Cunha. A few days later Trevor Schaefer and Leon Wolmarans went to Wits University to give the Students' Geographical Society a general picture of South Africa's activities in Antarctica. Finally, on March 25, Hannes la Grange - leader of Sanae 1 who previously had accompanied Sir Vivien Fuchs on his British Trans-Antarctic Expedition enthralled us with a brilliant illustrated talk.

The guest speaker at the Association's annual dinner (held on October 5) was Prof. S. P. Jackson, a patron of the Association. Guests of honour included Dr. Meiring Naude (also a patron of the Association), Mr. J. B. D. Schoeman, Resident Director (Johannesburg) of BP Southern Africa (Pty) Ltd., and diplomatic representatives from six Antarctic signatory countries (Australia, Belgium, Japan, Norway, United Kingdom and United States of America). The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the 1973 and 1974 BP Antarctic Gold Medals to Capt. K. T. McNish and Dr. G. J. Kühn respectively. Rob Johnston did a splendid

job as master of ceremonies.

I owe members of the Association a personal apology for delays with the *Antarctic Bulletin*. However, ably assisted by Joan Marx as co-editor, a 20-page bulletin is now in the hands of the printer and will be ready for distribution shortly. In view of Drs. Doug and Marsha Torr being still in the USA, and anticipating the volume of work they will face upon their return to the Republic, I am very pleased to announce the appointment of Joan Marx as Editor of the *Bulletin*. BP, who sponsor the *Bulletin*, have informed me that, due to current economies, they will be unable to sponsor a further *Bulletin* this year. This is understandable when I tell you that the current issue will cost just over R2 000.

BP, with the assistance of Mr. M. G. Hibbard, a past president of the South African Nusmismatic Society, Mrs. Christine Taljaard and members of the Association are in the process of completing a booklet entitled BP Antarctic Gold Medal – the first ten years.

Your committee was asked to study the question of re-designing the Gold Medal. We have avenues of thought on this problem which will be passed on to the incoming committee who, I hope, will produce designs

for your approval.

Finally, I wish to thank Joan Marx, Trevor Schaefer, Anton Aucamp, Jan Bredell and Leon Wolmarans for their hard work and co-operation during their year of office. Also I wish to propose a vote of thanks to BP for their continued interest in, and sponsorship of, this Association.

Patrick Turner, Vice-President.

## ANNUAL DINNER OF THE SA ANTARCTIC ASSOCIATION

5 October 1974, Pretoria

THIS WAS AN AUSPICIOUS OCCASION, graced by two patrons of the Association and by representatives from several countries of the Antarctic Treaty. These and other guests (nearly eighty were present) were welcomed by the President, Mr. T. G. Schaefer.

Two Gold Medals were presented by Mr. J. B. D. Schoeman, Resident Director of BP Southern Africa (Pty) Ltd.: that for 1973 to Capt. K. T. McNish (whose citation appeared in the previous issue of the *Bulletin*),

and that for 1974 to Dr. G. J. Kühn.

The guest speaker was Prof. S. P. Jackson, a patron of the Association. He reviewed the progression of South African activities in Antarctica from the days of exploration to the present well-defined programmes of scientific research: meteorology, upper atmosphere physics, earth sciences, and the biological programmes on the sub-Antarctic Islands. The Association and its publication, the *Antarctic Bulletin* (sponsored, like the Gold Medal, by BP), have reflected this change. More and more serious scientific work was published in the *Bulletin* until the *SA Journal of Antarctic Research* was started in 1971 to provide a medium for scientific papers.

Professor Jackson concluded by making two farreaching suggestions: that air transport would facilitate existing scientific programmes, and that a palaeontological research programme should be added to the existing programmes, since South Africans had already

achieved eminence in this field.

Picture opposite shows Mr. J. B. D. Schoeman with the two Gold Medallists, Dr. G. J. Kühn (left) and Captain K. T. McNish (right).

## JAARLIKSE DINEE VAN DIE SA ANTARKTIESE VERENIGING

17 Oktober 1975, Pretoria

HIERDIE GELEENTHEID was meer gesellig maar minder luisterryk as die vorige. Een van die beskermhere van die Vereniging, Prof. S. P. Jackson, was teenwoordig.

Danksy die vrygewigheid van BP Suidelike Afrika (Edms) Bpk het die Vereniging twee portrettekeninge van Sir Edmund Hillary en Sir Vivian Fuchs ryker geword. Hulle is deur die inwonende direkteur van BP, mnr J. B. D. Schoeman, oorhandig aan die Voorsitter van die Vereniging, mnr Hans Loots.

Die gasspreker was mnr Tertius Myburgh van die Sunday Times. Hy het 'n boeiende toespraak gelewer wat die teenwoordiges dikwels laat skater het, maar wat tog stof tot nadenke bevat het.

Geen medalje is vir 1975 toegeken nie.